Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Morning coffee break

The morning started badly - somewhere along the route of taking two gondolas to get to the top of the mountain I lost a glove, so I was forced to buy another pair of gloves from the little shop at the top of the mountain (at inflated prices as one would expect). I waited for the next two gondolas to come up to check if anyone had found it but no luck, and I was very disappointed as they are the best ski gloves I have ever had, down filled and very warm. 

Then on our first run I got down the mountain before Gavin and seemed to wait ages for him to get to the bottom. When he finally arrived he was covered in snow and I knew he had taken a tumble. It turned out a young woman skiing behind him was going way too fast over a rise and had hit him from behind. Gavin was not injured but she had cut her lip very badly from her ski. Gavin took her to the nearest mountain restaurant where the staff administered antiseptic to the cut and then phoned the doctor as she was in need of a plastic surgeon to stitch her lip. The poor girl, it was her first run on the first day of her holiday, and she was skiing by herself so did not have anyone with her to take care of her. She was understandably quite shaken. That incident rattled me and for the rest of the morning I did not really relax or enjoy my skiing. 

This is where Gavin and I stopped for our morning coffee - all the brightly coloured skis were propped up on the ski stand, which had been decorated with a palm tree frond in celebration of the tropical-island-like weather!

On the way home I asked the man running the ski locker service at the top of the mountain if anyone had by any chance handed in a glove, and they had! I was very pleased to get my glove back again.

We are now off to the prize giving ceremony, and it will be interesting to see  how the boys fared in last night's race.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.