Widdop

Well today wasn't quite as easy as I was hoping it would be. We discovered another issue, concerning an overnight process, which I hope I've now fixed. I'll find out tomorrow morning. I'm feeling so much lighter this evening, and if that problem is indeed sorted I do believe I'll be floating around the office tomorrow! Especially with the prospect of some holiday to look forward to - two holidays even! I think I've earned them!!

I took a break at the end of the afternoon to finally get a bike ride in. As I left the office and climbed up out of the Aire Valley I could see that I was completely surrounded by dark and heavily laden cumulus. It looked like I was going to get a thorough soaking, although I was able to console myself with the fact that at least we had summer temperatures today. It was going to be warm rain! As I left Cullingworth towards Howarth the road became a river and it was obvious that a massive cloudburst had just preceded me. And that was the story of my ride really. I was surrounded by ominous clouds, pregnant with torrential rain, but I stayed completely dry - and enjoyed quite a bit of sunshine into the bargain.

As I had to return to the office to patch the software this evening I headed south for a change, to Colne and Trawden and over Widdop Moor to Hebden Bridge. It felt great to be on less familiar territory, not knowing quite what was around the next corner. Much as though I love my routes in the Dales I feel like I know every little bump and bend on every little road. I had genuinely forgotten what a beautiful ride it is across Widdop, and the descent into Hebden Bridge and the climb out again over to Oxenhope are positively alpine in character.

With the dramatic skies the landscape was incredibly photogenic tonight. I've got a dozen potential blips, all as good as one another. It's way too late to procrastinate so I'm picking this one quickly as my favourite right now. It doesn't really matter. For the record I clocked up 45 miles but was out for over 4 hours because of the constant stops to take pictures. That's put me behind all evening, so yet again I've failed to catch up with anybody. I'm becoming a lost cause! Sorry - and with thanks for the great feedback on last night's vintage picture. Once again, each and every one of you is a star!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.