Rodents rule

By squirk

Skinny – a brief visit

A male fox with a white-tipped tail appeared at the end of the garden. A quick zoom in with the camera found the scar on his nose – Skinny! I haven't seen him since 11 November when he looked pretty sorry for himself. I'm glad that he's still around and that his wound has healed.

It's Fred's birthday today. He went for a cycle then spent the afternoon playing Star Wars Battlefront (a present to himself). We hopped along to The Ritzy to see Brooklyn, which is a wonderful film – fabulous acting from Saoirse Ronan and Julie Walters, gorgeous 50s outfits, lots of laughter and quite a few tears. I was amused rather than annoyed by the tremendous sighing man next to me (not Fred), who exhaled audibly every time there was a slight romantic twist. He didn't seem amused when I punched his knee trying to wriggle into my coat at the end of the film. I didn't mean it!

En route home, we stopped for a pint of Murphy's at West Norwood's newest pub. It's a pleasant place to chill out, but the menu lacked vegetarian options so we stuck to the liquid nourishment. While chewing through the drink, we planned some gigs for early 2016: Shearwater at the Islington Assembly Halls and James at Brixton Academy. They're bands that we really enjoyed seeing earlier this year – great music and performances.

I treated Fred to dinner – take-out falafel and houmous in pitta bread with extra chips and onion rings from Efes Restaurant. Mmmm. The meal went down well while watching French & Saunders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.