GOMA at night

The PledgeBlipfoto Blip gave me a bit of a dilemma when it was scheduled for 1st January,  because I have my own tradition for my journal entry on that date - its always the same subject/location.   So I've stuck with my tradition but if you look carefully you may just find my support for Blip future has sneaked in there somewhere. (a window has been vandalised changed to show Blip instead of GOMA). 

What does Blip mean to me?  - well to be perfectly honest its getting a little bit tedious for me now.  Like the majority of Blippers who continue past the first 365 there seems to be a point - for a lot of Blippers it averages out at somewhere between the 3rd and  4th year - where the level of engagement reduces significantly and in some cases even stops altogether.  
But I won't dwell on that - concentrating on the positive aspect the early years were fabulous and I've built up lasting friendships at home and further afield.   One or two of the ones closer to home may have happened by other means, but two in America - one I visit annually, and one I am in more or less daily contact with (not via Blip)  - just wouldn't have happened without this site.  So for all of these connections I am eternally grateful.  

I really hope it can survive - not in a selfish way because for me it no longer matters just so much -  but particularly for all those who have come along recently and those yet to join who will hopefully get as much out of it as I did. (and I'm not forgetting the old stagers who have been going for years and years and years - I just couldn't find a way of describing them that didn't make it sound like they were old and decrepit!) 


Almost forgot - Happy New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.