It's in Our Hands...

...and our hands need to reach deep into our pockets and purses and wallets NOW.

The Blipfuture pledge page says "60 days to run" -- BUT we need as much as possible in pledges/donations before January 11, when our wonderful Blipfuture Team meets with the current Blipfoto owners. "If the existing owners are not confident of success at the time, we are likely to lose this opportunity, and Blipfoto will close." (excerpt from here).

What's remarkable to me about Blipfoto is the way we develop friendships here, sharing both the quotidian and the extraordinary events that each of us experience over the days, months, and years. I follow people whom I consider kindred spirits, as well as others quite different from me, and am enriched by both.

I've relished blipmeets in France and Iceland, and closer to home, in Portland, Seattle, and here in Bellingham. Phil and I have welcomed Blipfoto friends from Yorkshire, Edinburgh, Croatia, Australia, and California into our home, and hope to see more in the coming years, either here or on their own "turf."

If Blipfoto ends, where else could we see the daily lives of folks in other countries -- not political figures or so-called "stars," just people like ourselves? Here we see what they're cooking at home or eating at a bistro, their newly-painted room or an appealing derelict cottage, what they enjoy on holidays/vacations, the latest additions to their family, the myriad birds and animals around them, the first flowers in spring and the last leaves to fall, their poignant farewell to someone deeply loved. Real life, lived by real people.

If you've already pledged/donated, I hope you will join me in adding more to the pot. If you've been waiting until January 10 to pledge/donate, please donate today.

I love this community, and am deeply grateful for the friendships it has given me. 

Blip 1444

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.