Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Don't Let it Fade Away

If anyone remembers the band The Darts, that's one of their lesser known songs which I just happened to hear on my way home tonight having met up with Blipbaby and her family for a second time. We introduced them to Chicken Tikka Inn which I am thrilled they loved! We then dropped them off at Madinat Jumeirah which is where my second extra picture is from.

And prior to that, after the morning service, we drove past The Address Dubai Downtown to see what was happening, and G managed to get a shot of it. It is still smouldering.

That was the day, but my blip is of what this site means to me and how it has changed my life...

I started on 6th April 2012 after having a big think about whether I was prepared to a. post a picture everyday which is taken on the day and b. allocate the resource of time to interact with the community by way of commenting on journals. At the time, I was going through some really tough things in my life (being unemployed, G going through cancer treatment, and having to move house). Blipping was a much needed and excellent distraction. It helped me gather my thoughts together at the end of each day and record the best bits.

G often tells me Blip has taken over my life (I don't agree) but I honestly can't say I've ever looked back. What a fantastic place this is - specifically for people whose biggest thing in common, I believe, is still a love of photography. Being more of a photo journalist rather than a photo-artist, I tend to use my journal to record the day with hopes of occasionally posting a stunning image; most of the days though, the pictures are just plain ordinary, but they do tell a story (like today's extras).

I have made new Blip friends and some, I have even had the pleasure to meet. What a treat. I would still love to meet aprecious, Shuttersister, CBLinks, ACyclingGranny and a few others (sorry guys if I've embarrassed you). That by no means indicates not wanting to meet the other blippers who visit my journal and leave comments, stars and lots of encouragement! Thank you blip-buddies! You make my day, and one new year's resolution is to acknowledge the comments you leave. I have also been able to keep up with my sister - SweetArt in Hong Kong - much better! ;)

I so hope this site doesn't disappear. It would be a real tragedy to lose such a creative, intelligent, smart community. Some of the images I see here are truly amazing. Tigg has told me that Blipfoto is one of 5 sites worth saving in a time capsule. I love that it is just ordinary people posting extra-ordinary pictures, sharing a little something of their part of the world. I have bought several cameras since starting and am rarely seen without one. I have also switched to using prime lenses on my DSLR rather than a zoom.

I have to admit I miss the sophisticated grey look of the old site (but love the larger thumbnails of the new one), the red balloons for special anniversaries, and I definitely miss Spotlight (and being in it from time to time!). The Popular page is just not the same!

This evening over dinner, I was reminded again that what I write is read by people thousands of miles away and it even has an impact on them in that they have been made aware of new places to visit in Dubai. I can't deny I was chuffed.

So, please let's keep Blipfoto going by investing in Blipfuture. Thank you! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.