Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

The show must go on(?)

Well, I don't know what to say! If you saw yesterday's blip, then you will know where I hoped to watch the fireworks display tonight, but sitting on my sofa, catching up with blips, I had a Whats app message around 10:20pm from my boss telling us that the Address Hotel Downtown (where we had our office Christmas party exactly 3 weeks ago) was on fire. [It is the tallest building on the left in yesterday's blip]. As you can imagine, this is not news that easily registers, so when SweetArt sent a message as well  from Hong Kong, I started to look for more info.

Luckily, both CNN and BBC World were covering it, but none of the local channels. It looked awful. Unbelievable. I could not imagine how a fireworks display in the same area could still go on, so G & I dithered and ended up glued to the TV. Very pleased that so far, there aren't any serious casualties reported,

Again, incredibly, the decision was made to continue, so we walked a very short distance (100 yards) to an opening in the buildings where we live and got this view. Hundreds of other residents had the same idea. The Dubai Frame is doing it's job nicely here...

And in the morning, we had a broggle round IKEA, and brought Gs car back home. It's had a major service. Then popped into Lamcy for some more browsing. Completely different to last year when we were freezing in London. Over here it was 19degC and tshirts were more than adequate. G & I managed to finish a whole bottle of [Zonin] Prosecco.

I hope you have a good and peaceful 2016. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.