Photographic musings

By Wheeliebloke

Blip

My first blip of 2016...not only mine but everybody else who's blipped today. I'm relatively new to this site, this is my 44th entry. I'm not completely new to photography though. I haven't picked up my camera 'in anger' for a few years...not until my very good friend basically emotionally blackmailed me to start blipping. I was having a tough time and he knew that it'd be good for me to have a distraction, something that would, even briefly, take my mind away from my woes. Initially my some of my posts were directly related to them and I went through the cathartic process of documenting my feelings. As my situation improved, I began to get more creative with my photos and attracted some more followers. Many of my Facebook friends and work colleagues have told me that they're enjoying my photography, I've even been advised to do a degree in it because 'I have a talent' (I wouldn't particularly agree but I'm enjoying taking pics). 

I recently learned that a work colleague and friend is interested in photography too. I asked her if she'd like to go along to the WPOTY exhibition at the Natural History Museum. After we'd wandered around there and critiqued the pics and said 'I can do better than that', we had lunch and I told her about this site and the community and encouraged her to sign up. I hope she does. This is how the community grows.

Today I received a notification that I have another follower; my eighth at the time of writing. Wow! People are interested in seeing my pics. It's really encouraging to know and I, in turn, would encourage anyone to sign up and keep this community going and growing. You can also help by going here https://www.blipfuture.com  and making a pledge to help fund the continuation. It needn't be much. I'm just off there now to do that very thing. 

So today's shot? What could be easier than a handheld macro, long exposure, light-painting shot? Easy. Haha. If we're not trying new things, we're not learning and I'm enjoying it. So...about that degree...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.