pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

My 50th today - so a day at Fakenham Races

Just scraped in before midnight to blip on my special day! Phew...

It all started at midnight lastnight. Manda and family had driven almost non-stop from Bamburgh yesterday to arrive with us at 8.30pm, and so the belated Christmas, moving into New Year, and finally birthday celebrations began in earnest!

A rousing Auld Lang Syne as the clock  struck 12 saw the New Year in. 2016, a year of hope? Then off to bed...

I woke at 9 and was showered with lovely presents, and the news that we were going to spend the day in the members enclosure at Fakenham Races. All 12 of us! A proper family day out.

Once up and dressed 'smart casual' I sat and opened the huge pile of birthday cards that have been pouring through my letterbox all week. Thank you so much to all my lovely friends and family. At the last look, my facebook profile said '76 people have posted to celebrate' - I didn't realise I even knew 76 people - let alone 76 people who care about me. Thank you all so much. It was such a lovely way to start the day.

At 10.30 we were all ready, and piled into 2 cars for the 30 minute drive to Fakenham. There, in the hustle and bustle of tweed clothed rich people, I felt really special. They didn't know I was 50 (how would they, I mean I clearly don't look it (!)) but I was busting to tell people in the toilet queue, or behind the bar, at the tote, or just milling near me, that it was MY special day!

Luckily for my family (especially Mollie, she would have been mortified) I kept quiet, but floated about on a wave of hidden excitement, throwing away Jon's money on losing horses, pretty much all day. No matter, we all had a great day.

On the drive home, I started to make the promised list (sorry Shenda, can't let a birthday get in the way of list making) of 50 things I'd like to achieve/do/take part in during 2016. I've been meaning to make this list, and now it's started....

Home to mums, and she put on a lovely birthday spread. Along with everyone I ate, played games, drank champagne & blew out 50 candles on a very warm birthday cake.

Thank you to everyone who made it such a memorable day, my lovely family. I know I'm not the easiest person to live with, understand, tolerate or even like, but today everyone has made me feel special. I'm now looking forward to the next 50 years....I plan to make each and every one of them count xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.