Frost on the Ferns

Chris and Jyl left around 11 this morning. We had such a wonderful visit together as we always do. Chris and I don't call each other "Ersatz Brother and Sister" for nothing. And Jyl is a love too. Just plain great friends, family really.

I spent much of the morning putting things back together in the house. When I have a party, I move all the clutter from the kitchen counter to our closet floor. Today I put stuff back but I took time to root out the old throw aways and actually throw them away. So the kitchen is greatly improved in the clutter department, though of course some is still there. We wouldn't be us if it weren't. 

After that Arvin and I took a walk down to Whatcom Falls Park. It was cold and clear and the sun was shining. The frost was still on the shady areas and was gradually melting where the sun hit. I took a bunch of photos. I didn't have time to go through them all as we soon leave to have a very early dinner with Helena and then attend a concert together. I chose this photo because I loved the detail and the color of the sun shining through the fern.

Cole Anderson, a young man we've known since he was a kid, is in town for the holidays. He is giving a concert this evening. He is a phenomenal classical pianist. I think his wife Sijuan is playing at least one duet with him as well. Should be good. And his parents are our good friends Deborah and Mike, so we'll have a chance to spend some time with them too. I am looking forward to the evening.

Happy New Year everybody. Hope 2016 shapes up to be one of your best. And I really deeply hope that we can all still be sharing photos together on Blip a year from now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.