Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Fields of Water

After all the rain yesterday, this morning was bright with spells of sunshine - I was out and about doing some errands and I could not believe how flooded these fields were, they looked like a lake beyond those trees. I was busy taking this photo when a man stopped and asked me what I was doing, I replied taking photos of the flooded fields in the lovely light, and he looked at me as if I was stupid and said, but haven't you see flooded fields before? I did not bother explaining that photographers take photos of things they have seen before all the time, but in different light conditions and on different days the views are always different. I don't know if he was the owner of the fields but he seemed to disapprove of me taking photos and was rather grumpy with me, but I know my rights and I was not on his property, I was standing on the pavement next to the road and so instead of telling him what a miserable old git he was I just smiled and said , 'I'm taking photos because it looks beautiful' and got into my car.

Now I must go get Thomas' stuff ready for school - he starts on Wednesday but has to go tomorrow for an afternoon of pre-term orchestra practice. The start of the term seems to have come very quickly after New Year this year. He is also going back to a mock GCSE exam for Latin as he is taking it a year early (as he also does Greek he is allowed to take Latin a year early, it is quite confusing to write them both in the same year with all his other subjects, being twelve in total).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.