a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Cosmic Egg

Mono Monday:  Beginning

   
"What we call the beginning is often the end. And to make an end is to make a beginning. The end is where we start from."


T.S. Elliott - Four Quartets


I struggled and struggled to come up with an approach for this challenge, none of which I was very happy with.  So, for example, somewhere in the kitchen there is still a crossword puzzle with just one across completed...


In the end the idea that appealed most was some sort of reference to the Big Bang theory, but how to deliver that?  This idea was (I think) visually my best one.  Don't pick at the concept too much though, as one might have to assume that if the Big Bang was the cracking of a cosmic egg then somewhere that might have been preceded by a truly cosmic chicken ...


In case you are wondering, I placed the broken egg on a piece of card with a hole in it, balanced on the head of the flash gun, I then triggered the flash remotely with the on camera flash.  I did try it with a whole egg first, but I rather liked the conceit that it was light escaping from the shell.


Many thanks to osuzanna for coming up with this difficult (and ultimately very diverting) challenge.  Although I cuss and fuss about them at the time, I enjoy being made to think.  You can view all entries here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.