Hammer to crack a nut

I fancied some nuts for the festive period but I could only find a bag of mixed nuts which contained many, many uncrackable almonds. I broke my dear mum and dad's nutcrackers trying to get into one of the almonds, applying so much force that the metal handle snapped.

In the end I resorted to the hammer but even this was not up to the job as there were three or four nuts that refused to break. Those that did break, quite a few had nothing inside, some were shrivelled and most were pulverised by the hammer blows and all that broke sent shrapnal ricochetting all over the place. Take my advice and if you're buying almonds, get the ready shelled variety. Goodness knows how they get the nuts out.

A day of catching up today. Plenty of loose ends and tasks to do, more of the same tomorrow. Gradually recovering but feeling tired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.