HilaryinOman

By HilaryinOman

Eurasian Spoonbill(Platalea leucorodia)

New bird! After taking my friend to the airport, I decided it was a great opportunity to see what the Wadis and lagoons of Seeb had to offer in the way of new birds, especially as we have had a bit of rain and the temperature has dropped considerably. So what a lovely surprise to see a pair of beautiful Eurasian Spoonbills having a sleep on a quiet lagoon, at first I didn't recognise them as they rest with their bill under their wing feathers and they were beyond the range of my lens. After watching them sleeping for over an hour, (even though lots of noisy Gulls were around them)they woke up stretched, had a nice bathe and then came closer! My patience had paid off and I got some nice shots of them(see my Extras)
For Christmas I got a book called 'Top 100 Birding sites of the World' and Oman does not even feature in it! I've got to put that right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.