Photo Journey

By notabit

Glowing in the Dark

 In the morning I grabbed a few shots of my wilting roses, now looking a bit morbid. I had little patience today for a tripod and setting things up properly, so I just placed the roses on the black velvet cloth and snapped hand held and wide open. And finally spent a disproportionate amount of time with post processing, trying out different effects. I've added another one to the extras.

The snow is gone, the weather is grey and I'm moping. A change of scenery would be good. And that's what is on the horizon. On Friday we will leave for a five-day trip to Istanbul. Wow!

I've been browsing some books with collections of haikus. The form is unpretentious, you can stick to the 5-7-5 syllable meter if you wish, but it's not absolutely necessary. It makes more sense in Japanese, but even the classic haiku poets weren't dogmatic about it. The best part is that it doesn't have to rhyme. I've never been good at making things rhyme.

Let me see what I come up with for my rose.

pink petals wilting
before the rose could unfold
its time was so short

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.