Mud Spattered Memorial

A couple of months ago, I came across a lady bedding in cyclamen plants around a tree at the corner of the estate, planted in memory of the late Mike Manning. He had been 'big' in the local church. I think he would have been proud of his memorial.

The lady opined that it would be a miracle if someone didn't come along and root up the flowers. Such was her opinion of the local populace.

As you can see, the cyclamen continue to flower bravely and are a gladsome sight when trees are bare, and ground is reduced to a quagmire.

It's not obvious from a distance but close up on the photo, you can see that the flowers show spattering from all the rain tossing up particles of mud.

At the first meeting of the camera club in the New Year this evening, I was finally able to address the members following a big fracas at the end of October. I stood down as chair.

I'm grateful to the members for sitting quietly and respectfully and for their applause subsequently for my contribution. I'm finding it a bit hard not to continue assuming a chairman role, with thanking people and listening. But of course, I can still do that.

Then we all moved on and had a very enjoyable time with the New Year quiz. I made a smart move and joined the two new members for a team. We won, and received a packet of Cadbury mini eggs each as a prize.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.