Ashby in a Headlight

The heavy frost forecast did not materialise. Added to which, Basil had decided to jump on the bed at 2.30 am. Nobody sleeps comfortably then. So I didn't make the effort to go to Cossington Meadows.

Instead, I finished writing letters and packing calendars and took everything to the Post Office early in the afternoon. The officious Post Office lady held the two sizes of calendar up against her makeshift measuring box. I could tell that she was slightly aggrieved that the dimensions fitted. Thus I didn't have to pay extra. As it was, £2.85 for second class postage was more than half the unit cost of a 'slimline' calendar.

Then Basil and I went to Ashby de la Zouch to take Carol her calendar. I'm not sure that she'll hang it up. It's 'too big.'

Home, and fell asleep in the armchair for almost two hours. I took the hint and took myself to bed for the rest of the evening.

About to cross the road at Ashby, I noticed this reflection of Market Street in a car headlight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.