Flying the coop

After work I let Benedict have his freedom. I'd hoped to do this on a weekend when I have more time but he's rapidly grown in confidence, and his little tastes of freedom in the front and back yards left him frustrated and stressed.

I gave him his freedom on an empty stomach. First we did a bit of cat door practice with a few treats as rewards, then after a brief courtyard and garage exploration, he was up and over the fence. I let the neighbours know there was a new cat in the mix, and trusted he'd know his way home.

Over the next couple of hours I saw him in different places sniffing and poking around. Once he came over to acknowledge me in the front yard, but quickly moved back to exploring his territory and disappearing over another fence.

I was delighted when I heard him meow as he bounded through the open sliding door, ever so pleased with himself. We spent some more time using the cat door. He's sharp and has nearly mastered it. I'll unlock it in the morning, give him more practice using it, and I reckon he'll be coming and going in the next day or so, full of pope mastery ;-)

Not bad for a little fella found wedged between 2 bits of concrete, terrified, skinny and covered in cement. He's made a remarkable transformation. All he needed was love and patience.

The future of blipfoto hangs in the balance. If you're unsure about any aspect of what's going on, or you're someone who regularly reads my posts and would like to donate a little to ensure your blip pleasure continues, this update is the clearest and easiest to follow I've read, and you'll find how to make a donation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.