Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

New lens!

Such a busy day again today...into town then home and then back into town again....I can't believe it's so late in the day and I've only just sat down and thought about taking a photo!

Having spent quite a few days looking at lenses I finally decided on two that I want to add to my kit and there were two choices for both of them...so off I went into town to our local (and rather good) photography shop (JRS Photo Hardware) to have a try of two of the zoom lenses I was looking at and fortunately they had both in stock.  Well I tried them both and thanks for some rather good advice from Paula (Subjunctive) about going for speed over weight (she was spot on), I decided on the slightly heavier but much faster Panasonic 100-300mm.  It's a full stop faster than the equivalent Olympus (75-300mm) and only £30 dearer at the moment so it seemed a good buy.   I tested them both on my GX8 at 100 and 300mm and the Olympus was definitely softer at 300mm.

I also asked about a wide angle lens having decided against the fisheye (mainly because so many people told me it was a novelty that would wear off eventually!) and was looking at the Olympus 12mm f1.4 and the Panasonic 7-12mm f4 again both of which are around the same price.   There didn't seem to be much in it and some of the reviews of the Panasonic were very good indeed...the only snag was that Panasonic have removed an offer on that lens and it's now a bit pricier than I thought...the chap at JRS was going to see what he could do to try and match the prices from other mainly online retailers.  I would much rather buy locally as I know I can always go in for advice but a £200 price difference might be a bit hard to take...fingers crossed they can do me a deal.

After this I should really stop buying lenses!

Well here's my first photo from the new lens, taken in awful lighting in our lounge just to test the lens...one of our Chinese ladies in the china cabinet!

Well, our tiffany lights were sold to a lovely couple who run a guest house up North and they were delighted with them....sorry to see them go but can't wait for our new lights to arrive....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.