Three Kings' Day!!

"Santa Claus may have gone back to the North Pole to rest, but it doesn’t mean the gift-giving (and receiving) is over -- at least not for the thousands of children in Latin America and Spain anxiously awaiting“El Día de los Reyes”.... Three Kings Day, or "Feast of the Epiphany," is celebrated in many parts of the world and marks the day on the Christian calendar when the magi brought gifts to the baby Jesus." Huffington Post

A day spent de-decorating the house, and seeing as the house looked like Santa's Grotto, it's been a busy day! The Christmas tree is still standing though and is twinkling away, but by the end of the evening it will twinkle no more and the house will have lost it's sparkle... But only until next Christmas!!

Following the tradition set by my Mexican Sister-in-law, there are still a few little presents waiting to be opened under the tree, brought by the Three Kings. These Three Kings are part of a German Christmas Pyramid that was a gift from a German pen pal many years ago.

And talking of ancient relics (not my pen pal!), I uncovered a tin of Swedish Pepparkaka (ginger biscuits) in the garage today. When I tried one, I thought it had bit of a strange taste so I looked at the best before date: 1 January 1995!! No wonder I don't remember buying them!! If you don't hear from me tomorrow, it's a case of death by Pepparkaka!! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.