Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Funky lights

My second blip of Burj Khalifa in one week - that's unusual for me; in fact, it could be the third!

So, today, G had to call into Dubai Mall to bank a cheque and kill some time before picking me up. She ended up having a good mooch around Waitrose. We decided to head back there... and had dinner at Carluccio's overlooking the fountain and views of this grand building.

They have groovy new lights. It has to be seen in person. I am trying to work out how they light up the building with all the different programs and light shows. It is impressive to say the least. This particular view is the owner of the building advertising themselves.

I should say, G & I had the privilege of being at the foot of this building on opening night on 4th January 2010 (see 2nd extra). That was an evening not to forget. We took the Metro to the newly opened Dubai Mall metro station. There were so many people who had the same idea, it took us 45 minutes to exit the station; then walk toward the building, not sure what was happening. Couldn't believe it when we ended up literally at the base, within minutes of the fireworks display. It couldn't have been planned better!

And later, we had a great time browsing all the new electronic things out there in three different stores. Always good and interesting. The only thing that really caught my eye is a Microsoft foldable keyboard that works with smart phones. It essentially enables them to be used as the little computers that they are.

Of course, the big thing about today, apart from it being Epiphany, is that it is the first special date day of the year! 6.1.16... My boss beat me really good today! I subsequently got my other date buddies. :D

PS. I've included an Extra as I love taking photos at dusk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.