He's a bully

Interesting day, photographically. Took a few photos of the sparrows and greenfinch on the bird table. Later, when hanging out some washing, I heard interesting bird calls and identified and photographed a very young Tauhou (Silvereye) in the tree tops. Still showing downy feathers on its chest. (My photo of it is one of today's extras.) What I'd heard was it calling for food, I think. A couple of attempts at tui in the pohutukawa, but too much shadow.

So; late in the afternoon I went down to the Southend of Snells Beach where the tide was almost perfect, but most of the waders were not there!. I became the hunter of the hunting heron, and my photo of its success is another extra. Gulls as always. Kotare (Kingfishers) were plentiful, and one Welcome Swallow sat still on a rock until I got close enough for a reasonable photo.

All up, I was pleased with my choice for today. It was my turn to cook the evening meal. First time I've done the whole meal since the op. I chose steak (BBQed rare), mushrooms, potato and brocolli.

Part way though the preparation, I saw a (presumably male) tui chasing away the greenfinch and sparrows on the feeding table. He was absolutely insistent on them going, even though there is no food for tui (which are nectar eaters). I grabbed my camera, and through the glass doors managed to get a few photos. This is my pick.

Very pleased with himself. Shortly after this was taken I saw another tui in the pohutukawa watching this display of territoriality (at this time of the year this is typical male tui behaviour), one presumes with the bird equivalent of admiration. They then flew away. I continued to prepare, and cook the meal, and the small birds returned.

First time I've tried steak, and my chewing (while slow) is competent. Things continue to improve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.