Walk for Millions

Today, The Peninsula Hotel group, HSH Management Svcs Ltd, joined the 'Walk for Millions' Community Chest event in Hong Kong.

And Martin signed me and Niwah up to join the 10km walk from Causeway Bay to Aberdeen Country Park. And as you can see from this pic, HSH had quite the representation, nearly 300 people. Hong Kong's Chief Executive was there for a little pep talk encouraging the walkers and raising awareness of the need to support this very worthwhile cause for the needy and disadvantaged in the community.  They have raised up to HK35million through these sponsored walks.

I had very little information  of what was involved in the hike, but was up for it anyway. It was super walking with his colleagues and other peers and several family members.  A "bit" of effort was required but Niwah and I did complete it and got our certificate, yay. 

As we ended up in Aberdeen (fishing village) and aware of the fact that Martin has never been to this part of Hong Kong, I decided to take him and Niwah on a little tour.

We walked around Aberdeen and then I struck a deal with a sampan owner to give us a shorter 'tour' of the harbour there, taking us past the world famous Jumbo Floating Restaurant (extra pic). We had a very kind boatman steering us through the boats and junks and sampans.

Then as a treat for completing the walk, I demanded that Martin by me an ice cream at least, but not just any ice cream, Godiva ice cream!!! Oh yes, it sure hit the stop.

Okay, as I'm writing this, my legs are soooooo sore! Super achy. Going up was tedious but coming down was really hard. I did take a knee brace, and was really glad I did, as the descent at times was really steep and hard on my knees, but no dislocation, so I'm thanking God for that.

p.s. There is some movement in this photo as I was taking the panorama, sorry.  You'll be able to spot Martin (far left) and my cousin Niwah (front right) in there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.