RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Rusty Parts

A rusted part in the scrap heap of my favorite auto mechanic (Beto). One doesn't often use "favorite" and "auto mechanic" in the same sentence, but this guy is a gem as I will explain below. 

I took my vehicle in on Thursday with what I suspected was a cracked head gasket ( a remnant of our Morelia adventure before Christmas). He told me it would be ready Monday (Lunes) and I was to give him 4,000 pesos (cuatro mil pesos) parts (those were the only words I was truly certain of in rather long Spanish explanation of what was going to happen to my SUV). When I had a Spanish speaking friend talk with him yesterday, I was informed it would be ready today after 2:00. 

When I arrived at the appointed time, wheel parts from my car were strewn about the shop. More Spanish explanation. An old part was thrust into my hands, with the direction to get on my bicycle and ride to the neighborhood AutoZone and buy a new part. This part weighed a good 10 kilos, but I dutifully headed out thinking that surely they will have to order the part and my car will be out of commission for two or three more days. I was wrong, however, and was soon back at Beto's shop with replacement part in hand. The shop has cleared out because it is at least a half hour past closing, but Beto goes to work on my car and I am loading my bike on top of my full repaired vehicle in under 20 minutes. Total tally for all his work (a new head gasket, new starter, new wheel part installed, and the necessary fluids to ensure it all works) 7,200 pesos (about $400 USD).

To recap: delivered a day earlier than promised, issues addressed I didn't even know about, work after closing (by the shop owner himself), and all for less than $500! That is the epitome of Mexican service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.