The First Smattering

Thank you all so much for your wonderful words of encouragement around my portrait project. I've been incredibly touched by the comments that you've left. The message you had for me is that I should continue, but I wasn't sure. I went out for a run on the moor this afternoon and I was genuinely undecided as to what to do. 

Winter has finally arrived and it's turned pretty cold here, so it wasn't an easy day for getting a picture of someone. I went with the flow. I got to White Wells and spotted a small group of people climbing up the path. One young woman was dressed more appropriately for summer than winter. Whereas everyone else was in heavy coats and hats, she was wearing just a thin knitted jumper! It was just the conversation opener I needed and away we went. I got to meet the lovely Katrina and I'm very glad I did. She was very engaging. I'm carrying on.

A load of rain fell yesterday and with the thaw of the overnight snow during the morning, the moor was awash with water again. I took some interesting shots looking down from the top of one of the waterfalls in full spate, but I decided to go with this in the end, to mark the start of winter proper. Here's hoping for a lot more snow than this, but I was kind of grateful for a smattering today. I'm a bit of a traditionalist when it comes to the seasons!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.