Love

My Mum is now very dependent on my Dad and particularly in the mornings, he must take charge of her coffee, breakfast, insulin injection and dressing.  It all takes a while, and he has to be very patient.  All the while she is totally bewildered, confused and needy.  He no longer feels he can leave her alone, even for 10 minutes.

This morning I photographed this intimate moment in the living room, a glimpse for you of the life they now live.

Blip  has been a way of keeping a record of the advancement of my Mum's Alzheimers for the last 3 years.  

Now, she is no longer able to communicate her thoughts verbally, she sometimes tries, but her words make no sense.  She hums constantly, which a year ago I found disturbing but now strangely reassuring.  

She has forgotten all of the eating/starving herself  issues she had last year. (Good) But she has also forgotten any food restrictions she has had all of her life because of her diabetes.  Now she eats well, but doesn't remember what she has eaten leading to erratic and scary hypos.  

She still knows who I am and tells me she loves me.  I know from the way she holds me and looks at me that she does.

Here is the record of my Mum over the time I've been blipping:

November 2012 - trying to talk
February 2013 - shopping
March 2013 - forgetting
April 2013- note making
July 2013 - starving
March 2014 - relaxed
September 2014 - Jess
March 2015 - Mothers Day
August 2015 - Spag. Bol

Blip has been an amazing platform for me to record this life.  I would hate for it to be lost.  You can help ensure it continues by pledging to support it here.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.