Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A very wet # 8

Crazy weather today...we hit 60 F (15 C) and had everything from sunshine to thunderstorms.  Somehow, hubs and I managed to get out between the rain for a nice 2-mile walk - we had no sooner gotten home than the skies opened and the heavens roared.  

I had managed to get some pretty good shots this morning and then, while I was trying to edit some of them, I vaporized everything in the file.  Couldn't find it anywhere (muttering).  So, I took this standing out side, in the rain, camera covered with a plastic bag, head covered with a wide-brimmed hat.  My choices were junco, woodpecker, titmouse, nuthatch or chickadee (all soaking wet.)  I picked the American Goldfinch because they are one of the birds that you can't really count on to be here every day. Some winters I don't see them at all - just depends.  This one, by the way, is a male in non-breeding plumage - in summer, he will be a stunning bright yellow.  

For sheer cuteness, I've put a shot of a titmouse taking an exuberant bath in the rain in Extra.  Little guy was already soaked from the rain, so it makes you wonder why taking a bath seemed like a good idea...But, then, I suppose if anyone saw me crouched in the rain taking photos they might also question whether that seemed a good idea...

By the way, this was shot at ISO 3200 - enlarged it shows quite a bit of noise, but it isn't bad for a small screen.  I used the 300 prime with 1.4 TC.  Image is slightly cropped.

Happy Sunday, people...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.