Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

MonoMonday - Fancy (Yard Bird # 9)

Thought I'd combine two challenges today - my own "yard birds" and this week's MonoMonday challenge which is "fancy".  I hope you'll agree that this Black-capped chickadee is quite fancy with his little black cap and beard, and his white cheeks.  Chickadees don't migrate and can be found at our feeders all year; and each spring, we usually have a pair of chickadees in one of our nest boxes, raising a brood.  

I was sad to awaken to the news that David Bowie had passed away last night - a great talent, gone way too young.  

It was frigid today with windchill at 18 F owing to a stiff wind.  Hubs and I decided to forgo the walk, it's just to cold and raw.  We did take a quick drive to one of the local lakes where I was lucky enough to spot a rare white-fronted goose and one young snow goose in among several hundred Canada Geese.

I am still having fun with my Food Project for Emma Davies A Year With My Camera challenge.  Today I made grilled brie/arugula/pear sandwhiches which, in addition to being delicious, made an interesting photo.  I'm popping it in Extra if you'd care to have a look... Shot it with my 50mm lens using the light box.  And, my favorite shot of the day is one I got this afternoon of two American Goldfinches, posing in perfect symmetry and in perfect light.  Had I not posted a goldfinch yesterday for my yard bird challenge, I would have blipped it.  

Happy Monday, people.  And if you're of a mind, put on your red shoes and crank up Let's Dance  the blues with David Bowie and Tina Turner, two music greats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.