Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Scram! (Yard Birds # 10 - American Robin)

I always look out the upstairs window before I come down, just to see what's happening in the Bistro...this morning there were about 20 robins in the cherry tree and at the bird bath, drinking.  Which meant that I took the stealth route downstairs, grabbed my camera and slithered over to the living room window where I managed to get 30 or so shots before they all shot up into the trees.  I picked this shot just because I liked the aggressive posture of the robin in the center.  This was one of 5 continuous shots of the pair, and the only one that wasn't boring.  I posted the shot from the prior frame in Extra.

It's another frosty day and we are expecting to get a slight dusting of snow this afternoon.  I am amazed that it is nearly the middle of January and we've yet to get any snow...  Ordinarily, I'd hold off on blipping to see if I could get any interesting snowfall shots, but I have to go with the robins since they aren't really common winter yard birds.  (And, besides, I really like them!)

Three more shots from today starting here on Flickr - the second shot would be my second choice for a blip today as it shows a pair of house finches engaged in courtship feeding.  I've never observed the finches engaged in courtship behavior this early in the year, so it was surprising to see the male feeding his mate.

Thanks for the very kind comments on yesterday's mono chickadee - and for the stars and hearts.  

More sad news today - this time of a suicide bombing in beautiful Istanbul.  I had the very good fortune to visit that lovely city in 2007, an experience I'll never forget.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.