Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sticky

Or so it seemed...I watched this Little Blue Heron from a distance of no more than 10 feet as it worked the riverbank for insects and invertebrate. I'm not sure what he has here - maybe a cricket.  It always amazes me how efficient and laser-focused these little herons are when hunting.  They move with such measured precision, never even moving the water or grass as they slowly place one foot ahead of the other, head tilted to one side to better see potential prey.  Is it any wonder I continue to be fascinated with nature photography?

I posted 5 other photos that I especially liked from this morning starting HERE on Flickr .  All birds.  :)

I enjoyed the comments from yesterday's mono shot - it is interesting to hear your perspective and I appreciate every comment.  My truth is that I love watching wild creatures going about their daily business of living and when I can photograph some of those moments, it feels like I've won the Lottery.  There is something about the whole process that grounds me in a very good way.  So, I will always spend more of my camera time stalking birds and creatures than stalking sunsets and such.  That said, I do want to be sure that I don't take the easy road.  

As I look at my own photography, what I see is an evolvement (hm, not sure that's a word, but you get the idea).  I used to be so excited to get a photo of a bird perched nicely; then I was after the shots that showed some of the detail of the feathers; and now I am most excited when I can catch a bird or critter engaged in some sort of activity (sorry, but this usually involves eating some other creature.) I wonder how I will evolve in the next year?  

Yes, still feeling introspective...

Tomorrow morning I'm off to Phoenix to spend the rest of the week with my parents.  We've already got a list of places to go for birds (and whatever else shows itself). Mom and Dad will be scouting for geo-caches as I scout for birds.  It sounds perfect to me!

Ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.