Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nuts!

Isn't it kind of ironic that this tiny red-breasted nuthatch has a distinct preference for ... nuts!  Peanuts, actually and preferably shelled and offered in a hanging feeder.  All day long, this little bird makes trips to the peanut feeder, with occasional stops at the heated birdbath for a sip of water.  The entire time, he beeps and toots, just adding to the adorable-factor.  Today, I heard a second one calling from somewhere in the woods.

It's worth mentioning again that I've never had a red-breasted nuthatch spend the winter with us.  In fact, only once in the past 5 years have I even seen one in our yard.  So, having little "Rusty" as a winter resident is really quite unusual, and quite a treat.  This is the 8th yard bird to be blipped this year.

The entire collection of YardBirds for 2017 can be found here.

Hubs left mid-morning to begin the 900 mile drive to Alabama.  I know it's silly, but the house feels lonely without him and I find myself moping around a bit.  I had thought to go for a long walk, but rain showers have kept me close to home.  I was also hoping the temperatures in the 50's might lure out a few insects, but I wasn't able to find a thing in the garden, in spite of poking around.  Adding to my glum mood.  I'm Little Miss Debbi Downer today, apparently.  Maybe I need some chocolate...

Okay, that's a wrap for Thursday, people.  Thank you so very much for stopping by.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.