Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Charming...

Some winters the American Goldfinches stay around; other winters they move a bit further south.  So far, a small charm of them have been hanging around, feasting on Nyjer and black-oil sunflower seeds.  Since they are usually either a) hanging off a feeder, or b) up in the cedar trees, out of sight, it's not that easy catching a good shot of one.  So, when I happened to look out the kitchen window and see one perched in perfect late-afternoon light on the cherry tree, I crept out with my camera.  Practicing my best stealth moves, I was able to get about 25-30 feet from the tree.  The only edits to this are a bit of a crop.

American Goldfinches are the only finches in N. America that go through a complete molt twice a year.  In the summer, males are a spectacular bright yellow with black cap and trim.  In the winter, both sexes are a more drab brownish yellow.  I believe this is a female due to the absence of any darker feathers on the forehead - usually even in winter, the males will have a trace of their cap visible if you look closely, and more yellow on the shoulder.  And one final factoid - they are the State Bird of New Jersey.  And my 9th Yardbird to be photographed this year.  

A friend of mine emailed me to say she'd seen a rare Ross' Goose on a nearby pond, so I took a quick trip to see if I could spot it.  Alas, it was gone, but I did see my first mockingbirds of the year as well as a pair of Common Mergansers, so it was a nice outing.  

I also got a glimpse of the fox as he trotted along the edge of the woods this afternoon.  All squirrels safely up in the trees...this time.  

Feeling less glum today, although still missing Hubs.  However, he is about 125 miles from his Mom's house now, so the long trip is nearly done.  I'll feel easier when he's safely there.

Thanks so very much for stopping by.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.