The Shadow of Christmas

The sun shone today. All day. Amazing. I dragged Len out to drive to Oakham to change a pair of trousers I'd bought from Lands' End. Astonishingly, they were too big. I was able to get a pair of cord leggings in exchange. 

On the way back, we stopped for a light lunch at The Grange Restaurant at Asfordby, a favourite with us as Basil is allowed in. He sits quietly under or by the table, eyeing everyone up.

The home made tomato soup was excellent, washed down with gluten free bread and a large bowl of potato wedges. You could actually taste the potato in them. Len likes them thin and crispy. I like them solid. We both like them with tomato sauce and mayonnaise. A lady reeking of gin came to fuss Basil. Len's giant fruit scone arrived before my soup. He'd finished it before the soup and wedges arrived. He helped me out with the wedges!

We can never leave without buying something. This time it was a hellebore and two cyclamen plants, some seed potatoes and a bag of sunflower kernels for the bird feeders. I spotted a dog bed of just the right size for Basil which he will use tonight. His bigger bed will go to the rescue kennels at Hathern. I hope they can use it.

Then back home on the A6006 through Rempstone, where we saw this amazing shadow on the church tower, just like a Christmas tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.