Tidying Up

Dear Diary,

Instead of watching an old movie yesterday afternoon, I decided to tidy up the pantry...of all things!  I finished this morning I am quite pleased with the result.  Continuing to pare down and organize is high on my list of 2016 priorities.

When I renovated my 1851 farmhouse I was determined to have an old fashioned, walk-in pantry, one with lots of cupboards and a window.  I included a flour sifter in the center; that's the strange silver thing you see, and a tin bread drawer.

My extra photograph is of the lower cabinets.  I made them look like there are chickens in there!  I remember my carpenter giving me odd looks when I was describing what I wanted him to do. I cut the chickens out of a wallpaper border and he added chicken wire to the door fronts.  All these  years later and they still make me smile!

If you truly love you home it will begin to take on facets of your personality over time and I think this place has and no place more than my little pantry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.