Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Luxury item

An exciting day of two deliveries and an invitation from Bailey and her mum to accompany them up the Hill. It was such a glorious day - I'm sure many folk are despairing of the constant rain - but we had blue skies and no wind.

I know many folk are in despair about the constant rain and consequent flooding - I rang our favourite B&B/pub by the river in Pitlochry. I'd seen on a video that the fish ladders were now part of the river, so I knew the road must be bad. Yes, they're flooded. For a second time in a month. The basement and all the equipment is ruined - there was just no time to move it, so fast did the flood waters rise. But the owner was more worried about folk in Blair Atholl who had had to evacuate. If I was fitter, I'd go up and help.

I took delivery of a real luxury item, one that I've become aware of while staying in more upmarket accommodation than has been our usual. No, not a trouser press (who uses them?) but a slow motion (sorry, wrong choice of word in the context) toilet seat and cover. I love it. I can stroll to the handbasin and watch it slowly closing from afar. It's weird how much pleasure this little action gives me...

The other delivery was a pair of cords. Comfy elasticated waist cords. Just the job. I had considered going into town to buy a pair, then came to my senses and ordered online. SO much less bother.

Bailey came to stay with us for the afternoon while her mum went off to orchestra practice. The dogs were both exhausted from charging back and forth up the hill, in complete contrast to the two humans, who were so slow. We all just relaxed on the sofas. I listened to some David Bowie on Spotify - I'm sure his playlists were burning hot today.

Enjoyed War and Peace last night. Off to watch Deutschland 83 now. How come there's so much good stuff on TV suddenly?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.