Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Blackfriars Bridge

At last today I got my day in London.  It was cold but fabulous - sun, black cloud, grey, the lot.  I had real fun, walking along the South Bank, crossing at the Millennium Bridge, and continuing east on the North Thames Path, which I haven't done before.  When I lived in London I was very much a West End girl and don't know the City well.  Today I got as far as St Magnus-the-Martyr, a beautiful Wren church sadly closed.  I shall go back!

This is Blackfriars Bridge (on the left) which takes road and foot traffic.  The bridge on the right is Blackfriars Rail Bridge.  The piers in the middle are from the original rail bridge, opened in 1864 for the London Chatham and Dover Railway.  I think it's traffic got pinched by Waterloo Station and in the end became too weak to take modern trains and was demolished.  So its remains makes a suitable entry, I think, for DerelictSunday (hoping we'll all still be here, of course!).

As you can see, the tide was out when I arrived.  It was very much in when I left and I can see why people worry about the strength of the Thames Barrier, the water was only a ft or so from ground level by the Oxo Tower.  Phurr!

Enjoy your evening.  Big day for blip tomorrow so I'm sending love and good luck to all and sundry  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.