Bom

By Bom

Bowie

The sad news of the death of David Bowie yesterday and watching the tribute programmes got me thinking about the two concerts of his I went to, so today I found the tickets.  I keep tickets from concerts, plays etc - and no they're not going in the decluttering as even though I go to a LOT of events, the tickets fit easily into one shoe box.

The first concert was in the Summer of 1983 at The Bowl in Milton Keynes, a large open air venue which was a former clay pit.  I was still at university then and went with three friends and  I remember it being an incredibly hot, sunny day.  It was The Serious Moonlight Tour, supporting the release of the Let's Dance album. Although a commercial success, it was not my favourite album, but I still liked the songs. In the programmes yesterday they said its success was a surprise and the tour had to be re-planned as it was initially going to be in small venues. Bowie played three days in a row at The Bowl to a total of 150,000 people. It was a great concert because of the music, the weather and the company, one of my favourites.

The second was the Sound + Vision tour in the Summer of 1990, also at the Bowl (the ticket has a price of £20 on it).  I don't remember who I went with, but I think it was again a very hot and sunny day.  This was his 'greatest hits' tour, so nothing new, but so incredibly enjoyable. 

Bowie was an established artist when I discovered music, so I didn't see the rebel, that was just normal.  I have always loved his music though, he was so innovative.

Rest in Peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.