Bom

By Bom

The Green Gym

Today I went to the Green Gym for the first time.  It's a voluntary programme to help improve physical fitness and general well-being whilst taking part in conservation activities. I'd heard about it, then found out that Polly H, a fellow blipper goes regularly.  

We were at Linford Lakes, a nature reserve in Milton Keynes which was a former gravel pit. Today we were doing some hedge laying.  This involves cutting away the wood to one side of the stem of hedgerow trees, then laying them down horizontally.  This is a 'pleacher', which should hopefully still be alive.  Everything is kept in place by stakes, also created from stems removed in the process, linked together by entwined pieces of willow.  

Polly H can be seen taking a break to pose for a blip, and the extra shows part of our results for the day.  I can be seen working extremely hard in Polly H's journal at  https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2134336840616902681
As you can see, we were wrapped up in lots of layers, but it was extremely cold, which bizarrely I felt more once I got home.

I really enjoyed the morning.  A combination of learning a new skill, seeing a positive contribution to the environment, and good company. Thanks to P for showing me the ropes today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.