Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Mum's seat

Today was another blood-letting but I was greeted by sunshine; the phlebotomist was Ms Sunshine. What a great start (and she was very sunny!). It was also sunny when I came out of the hospital so I decided to return home via a favourite childhood playground, a beauty spot right on our doorstep. It's called Shipley Glen; half an hour's climb from our childhood home, laden with picnic, balls, bats, kites and whatever else took our fancy on the day. We spent very many happy hours, days, here with my mother who, as a War widow, was father as well as mother.
So, when my mother died at 91 years, my younger siblings and I had a seat for her installed in a favourite spot, overlooking the Aire valley below where we had our home. In the valley bottom is the World Heritage village of Saltaire where I was lucky enough to be raised. It's a favourite visit even now, especially the David Hockney gallery in the mill Sir Titus Salt built on the riverside, hence 'Saltaire'.
Mum's view is my blip for today.
The first extra is the view behind the seat, essentially the view we had from our home. As I write this, yet again blipfoto will not let me add a second extra, the memorial plaque on the seat. I'll have another go and if it still refuses I'll try again later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.