But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Mbra Castle from the Scott Monument.

Needing some new hiking boots, I ventured into town and tried using the bus from the stop outside our garden gate. The service through Roslin was abominable for many years but Herself persuaded me that it has been much better recently. While that was true, I still ended up with a sore head after an hour and a half round trip. The boots were easy, I told the girl in the shop what I wanted, she fetched what I’d asked for, I tried them on, paid for them, put my old shoes in the rucksack and walked out. I wonder why so many people ended up surrounded by shoes and spending an hour before deciding the shop doesn’t have what they want?
 
For the sake of a blip, I climbed the 266 steps up to the top of the Scott Monument, 200 feet above the street, and took views in all directions; unfortunately, a large portion of the town centre is littered with scaffolding, cranes and earth moving equipment; I had to ask some workmen if it was safe for me to sidle past them; they were a nice bunch and even stopped work for me. As a result of the upheaval, the castle was the best shot. I might go back for the other possible pictures at a later date, preferably when I’ve forgotten how scary it was coming down.
 
The bus driver home appeared to be a school-girl, presumably on work experience.

I've just posted yesterday's "Pentlans from Auchencorth."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.