But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Late Nectar Source.

It snowed overnight and looked rather pretty – for a while – so I wandered out into the garden and was going to do a texture blip, but this ivy appeared above the parapet. It can be quite difficult to tell the stage of development of these flowers, but I think this is now developing its seeds. I have always thought that the ivy’s reputation for providing late nectar for bees was rather over-rated but, having had a hive in the garden for the last six months has opened my eyes a little. Throughout the warmer days of December, the bees were flying, not just popping out to the loo and pooping back in again, but going out on a mission.
 

After the best part of 35 years beekeeping, I’m still learning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.