An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Deja Vu...

Yesterday on Facebook I was reminded that a year ago on that date,  13th January 2015,  the snow came.   I shared the photo to my timeline with the comment "This time last year the Gin Palace was coated in snow. Thankfully no snow this year!"   


Well whadda ya know!  Looks like I spoke too soon.  By 5pm the snow was piling down and this was the scene that greeted me from my bedroom window this morning.  That'll teach me to open my mouth! 


Hectic day here.  Roofer's guys were back finishing off insulating the upstairs loft that they started before Christmas.  The engineer's been to serve Alan's ceiling hoist and his mobile hoist.  John who keeps the garden tidy couldn't get any gardening done so kindly offered to clear the driveway of snow instead.  Two separate prescription deliveries from the Pharmacy.  The postman knocking as the envelope was too big to fit through the letter box (I bought some funny Christmas cards from a card shop in Brighton and the other day I noticed they'd a half price sale on so I bought a bundle of Christmas cards for very special people for this Christmas :-))) and a random caller offering maintenance services.   


Each and every one of them was in chatty mode, which was lovely, but I had lots to get done today!  So a day spent engaging in small talk but I still managed to get washings done, get a pot of bolognaise in the simmering oven for tomorrow's lasagne (looking forward to a visit from my good pal Sleepyhead) and lentil soup in  the slow cooker (thanks LeeAnne )


Was just congratulating myself on all that when I heard the sad news about the death of Alan Rickman.  Can't quite believe it.   Another legend gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.