Cenotaph - Whitehall

On this momentous day, it seems quite fitting that I post an image that is an absolute treasure in our family.  This tiny replica of the Cenotaph in Whitehall London was sent to my Mum during the war by her pen friend Madge.  Madge and Mum had been pen friends for 12 years at that stage and it was amazing that it arrived safely as it had been shipped out on a convoy.  Madge and Mum continued to write to each other for over 55 years, until Madge passed away.  Even though they never met in person it was a very, very special friendship.

Today I want to say to all of my blip "pen friends" that I treasure the friendships that I have made since I starting blipping over two and a half years ago.  This was brought home to me loud and clear this morning when I was alerted to the fact that there was a very positive posting from Blip Central.  I couldn't believe my eyes, we were now a heartbeat away from winning the battle and just like this little Cenotaph we had come through the toughest challenge yet facing this wonderful website.  I have to confess with being overwhelmed with emotion and the tears flowed freely, for the best possible reason.

I just know in my heart that once the legalities have all been dealt with and things settle down, this community will grow from strength to strength.  We will not be beholden to anyone but ourselves and I take great comfort in the fact that over 1200 blippers have contributed.  That's an incredible number of people who have stood up and been counted and who will be the foundation stone for blipfoto Mark II. 

Mono Monday 104 - Tradition


Simple Definition of Tradition
: a way of thinking, behaving, or doing something that has been used by the people in a particular group, family, society, etc., for a long time
: the stories, beliefs, etc., that have been part of the culture of a group of people for a long time

I believe that blipfoto already qualifies in its own right as being a "Tradition" and the simple art of writing to a pen friend for over 50 years definitely qualifies.  So it is with great joy and pride that I submit this humble and very much loved Cenotaph for two challenges.  Mono Monday which in itself has built up its own "Tradition" and Tiny Tuesday because it's a very tiny Cenotaph!!!
Message to Osuzanna - I trust you'll forgive me for posting my Mono Monday on a Tuesday but I didn't want to miss out on honouring Paladian who started this challenge 104 weeks ago.  Such a wonderful challenge enjoyed by hundreds of blippers over the past two years.     

Blipfuture.com
For those of you who may not have yet seen the latest very exciting post from Blip Central I am including the link here.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.