Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Locked Out

Mom forgot.
Only lock the outer security screen door on my house. 

I hadn't used the locks on the inner door for years and hadn't a clue whether they still would work with my keys.  Today we found out.  Mom, who has a spare set of my keys, was leaving my house after doing me a favor, got her key stuck in the door.  The door was locked, she couldn't unlock it and the key was stuck in the lock.  I was literally locked out of my house!

She knew where I was and met me very upset to tell me what she had done.  I reassured her that everything would be okay and that even if the sliding glass door was locked I had my key to that door (which I had never had any occasion to use)  on my keychain with me.  Not to worry. 

Funny thing was that when I got home, all I had to do was press down on the door handle and I got inside.  The door wasn't actually locked.  That was either in her mind or I unlocked it when I tried turning it when I first arrived   It was a mystery.

But the key wasn't going to budge out of that lock.  No way, no how.  It was time to call in the big guns...the WD-40.  I didn't want to get any drips on the paint because it stains so I was very careful with it.  A couple small spritzes and whoosh! Out it came.  A another inside to lube it and that lock is good to go in case of other "mom forgot" incidents.  I did the same with the bottom lock and the garage door. 

You  can never be too prepared.  Who knows, I might want to lock them some day and now I know I can - and without a struggle. I was a Girl Scout and our motto is "Be prepared."  I like to think that I always am.  {Well, for everything except where I'm supposed to be on time.}

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.