Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Dredging the harbour

Today I went to Lymington.  I actually got there despite the false starts over the last week or so!  I told myself I was going because it was such a wonderful day.  It was too, one of those high blue days with frost on the grass and ice on the puddles and - in the New Forest, which the train trundles through - ponies basking in the sun and deer looking almost woolly and quite exceptionally graceful.

However, after my (very different) trip to London yesterday I did have to ask myself if I might not be getting a tiny bit bored with finding blips in Winchester.  Maybe, maybe not, but what isn't better for a change?

I found Lymington Harbour fascinating in its winter skin.  There was a fishing trawler in like last time (stinking of fish) and the Isle of Wight ferry was still ploughing in and out, but one half of the marina's moorings were empty and the dredgers were at work outside the yacht club.  This is one of them, but temporarily at rest.

Altogether I had a gorgeous morning, a cup of coffee at the Ship Inn on the quay, a short trail round the shops and arrived home just after lunch - freezing cold!  I have spent the afternoon doing the things I should have done this morning and tonight is a choir rehearsal.  I will do the bulk of my commenting late or in the morning.  But, lovely folks, I will do it!

Enjoy your evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.