My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Did my heart love till now?

Forswear it, sight! For I ne'er saw true beauty till this night.

Right first things first and an early -ridiculously early for a Saturday- start saw me on a train bound for Wolverhampton and the start of the Birmingham Black Country half marathon. 13.1 miles along the canal system all the way to Brindley Place in Birmingham. It was wet, muddy, and the rain was being blown by a head wind at times right into our faces...but you know what, I really enjoy this race for some reason. It was good to catch up with some of the Harriers and Harsh & Hem* too. 1 hour 38 mins later I arrived in Birmingham to rapturous applause, well from my Dad at least who then supplied lunch.

It's becoming tradition that I do the BBCHM and then get a lift back home from Mom & Dad and we go to the open-air Stafford Festival Shakespeare up at the castle. This year, if it wasn't obvious, was Romeo & Juliet and the picture -and quote- is when Romeo, Dwane Walcott, first sets eyes on Juliet, Poppy Drayton, as she's dancing with Paris, Thomas Judd. I absolutely love these productions, there's something special about it being performed open-air with the castle in the background. And tonight was no exception in being a great performance despite the torrential showers, and a power cut...luckily the audience are under cover though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.