Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Everything your eyes can behold and more...

My cousin's daughter (second cousin?) is in Dubai for work, so we met up this evening. She's never been at this time of the year before, so I suggested a trip to Global Village, so she too could experience the visual delights of it.

We got there just after 7, so I reckoned maybe 3 hours of browsing?? First off, we had to eat. Freshly made pasta again. Then we hit the country pavilions... Thailand, Europe, Africa, Russia and Yemen. It's all we had time for. And in typical GV fashion, we ended up buying a thing or two...

We went into Yemen specifically to get ginger honey as Marylou had a really bad cough. Saw these necklaces just as we left. I think the colours are pretty. I got lots more pictures of pretty things, but for now, this is it. I may change the picture tomorrow... or even add an extra.

The thing that really stood out about this visit is how clear the sky was and how beautiful all the lights looked. So glad we got to go. Oh, and it was wonderfully free of manic weekend crowds!

PS. My extra is the "Natural Resource Guide to Africa". All that wealth in that continent, and it still struggles so much. Tragic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.