Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

168 metres over the Rhine

Although I've been to Dusseldorf many times I had never been up the Rheinturm as the weather never made it worthwhile. A beautifully clear day on Tuesday this week, my last day on this trip, was not to be missed.
I could not resist blipping the view more or less straight down from 168 metres and, of course, favoured as usual monochrome.
The circular viewing platform gives a view in all directions and is well worth the 9 Euros entry (7 for old grumps like me). My favourite (first extra) was the view towards the altstadt (old town), which is about in the middle of the picture. The coffee's good too and not over priced (cheaper than the airport!).
Having blipped pollarded (thanks to Bunty for the correct terminology!) plane trees for mono Monday I could not resist picturing the top of the tower amid the branches of one (second extra).
After the tower, the walk back along the Rhine to the altstadt was wonderful and, as usual I stopped to fill my hand baggage with four loaves from the wonderful Hinkel bakery shop (third extra).
Just for chrissel, I finally managed to get a picture of Joshi earlier in the day (fourth extra), asleep as you suggested. Mikesh woke up when I took his picture so I didn't resist adding another, colour this time, of him (fifth extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.