Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

My take on eggs Florentine

Another food blip I'm afraid - busy day culminating in evening meal: large bowls of borsch (borș in Romanian - same pronunciation), made by Petronela at the weekend in a pot large enough to feed an army - typically Romanian. Not what is usually thought of as borsch in the UK, ie with beetroot, but with chicken (wings); it can be made with many different things just being a 'sour soup', made sour with borș, fermented wheat liquor with all sorts of odd additions like twigs from a sour cherry tree. As with yesterday's stuffed peppers, lots of sour cream.

My contribution was my simple take on 'eggs Florentine' as a second course: a Warburtons 'giant' crumpet (introduced to me by a blipper who seems to have disappeared), covered in spinach wilted in butter with salt and pepper and a softly poached egg on top. Too lazy to make hollandaise sauce!

By the way, quite a lot of blippers I used to follow before I took my break haven't blipped for a while, whether just taking a break or finished with blipping I don't know.

PS. The spinach under the egg is green but hasn't come out that way when uploaded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.