Exhausting

Some days, as you all know, getting a blip can be a big effort. Take today for instance. First I had to sit up in bed. To be fair I had been doing that long before first light. In fact I had read the downloaded newspaper on my iPad and enjoyed some soothing choral music on an Austrian Internet radio station.
But then you have to swing your legs over the side of the bed and make a big effort to stand up. Pull the heavy curtains and open the blind. But the effort is worth it when you see it is that rare thing, a perfect day.
But then there is the effort of going for the camera. Fortunately the lounge is on the same level as the bedroom so that is not too bad. Open the window and shoot. Oh the joy of having got your blip whilst still sporting pyjamas. They advise me to keep the shot simple and untweaked. So I have. But I didn't notice until I downloaded that it includes a couple of hundred holiday makers off to the sun or the ski slopes.

Should I go back to bed? No. Although it is comfortable I sometimes resent the fact that I have wasted 27 years of my life asleep. Think of what I could have achieved in that time. Evolution should surely do better than this. At the moment its humans 0 robots 1.

After breakfast Mrs. K.offers me a lift to RSPB Leighton Moss. She is going with her chain saw gang for a morning at the local nudist colony. Now don't get the wrong idea. They are the local Woodbank Society retrieving three tons of logs from the site. And of course there are no nudists in mid-January.

I go to three hides. When the lakes are covered with ice it is a good time to see Water Rails which come out of the reeds. No luck but my first extra poses nicely. Is that next years Christmas card sorted?

After a mug of hot chocolate it is time to start the walk back home. Most of it is through National Trust woodland and is a sheer delight on such a perfect morning. The lady in my pocket says it is 3.8 miles at 23 minutes per mile. Slowing down a bit I note.

Mrs. K. arrives home and after a much harder morning than me, wants to go out to lunch. So we tidy up and go to a posh place recently opened. The food is very good. On the way we have to stop for more photos across to the hills. So if I can manage it there is a second extra.

If you have read so far you will have learned a bit more about Knottman. Most of his friends seem to think he is a harmless old chap who tries to amuse. He loves walking and Blip and is overjoyed that it is to continue. I have been very happy to pledge. After all in a mild winter why would the Knottman's need the Winter Fuel Allowance which the Government gives to pensioners. You see we can buy cheap logs which have been well seasoned by being sat upon by a pack of nudists.

Finally an apology. Two or three days ago I misidentified the fungi which I blipped. It was I am assured Glistening Ink-cap, Coprinus micaceus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.